How to Deactivate or Delete Snapchat Account?

Goodbye, Snapchat! I am breaking the streaks with you.

Tired of Snapchat and want to get rid of it? Well, Simply deleting the Snapchat app from your smartphone will not delete your Snapchat account. You will have to request Snapchat to deactivate your account first before deleting it permanently.

Unlike other social media apps, you can not delete your Snapchat account directly. You’ll have to deactivate it first and then wait for 30 days before Snapchat automatically deletes your account and its data. The benefit of this is that it will give you a 30-day window to reactivate your Snapchat account if you want to undo your action.

Download your Snapchat data!

Before you delete your Snapchat account permanently and lose everything associated with it, Snapchat also gives you an option to download all your data from their servers.

Note: If you have signed up using your Phone number on Snapchat, you should add and verify your email before requesting your Snapchat data.

Here is how to download your Snapchat data:

  • Visit the Snapchat Account Settings page on a web browser and sign in using your Snapchat login credentials.snapchat account settings login mrnoob
  • Click on the “MY DATA” button under the “Manage My Account” page.request snapchat data mrnoob
  • Here Snapchat will list everything they have on you in their database. Scroll down, and click on the “SUBMIT REQUEST” button to request your Snapchat data.send snapchat data request mrnoob

Snapchat will send you a copy of your data with them as a Zip file on your email address, which shouldn’t take more than 24 hours.

After receiving a copy of your data on your email associated with your Snapchat account, you can permanently delete your Snapchat account.

Also read: How to Make Public Profile on Snapchat?

Delete or deactivate Snapchat Account permanently!

Snapchat does not let users access account settings from the Snapchat app. If you want to delete or deactivate your Snapchat account, you will have to access your account setting from a web browser.

Here is how to quickly delete (or deactivate) Snapchat account:

  • Visit the Snapchat Account Settings page on a web browser and sign in using your Snapchat login credentials.snapchat account settings login mrnoob
  • Under the “Manage My Account” page, click on the “DELETE MY ACCOUNT” button.snapchat delete my account mrnoob
  • On the next page, type in your Snapchat login credentials again and press the “CONTINUE” button.deactivate delete snapchat account mrnoob
  • Your Snapchat account is now deactivated. You will receive a confirmation mail or message on your linked email/number. Once deactivated, it will take 30 days for Snapchat to delete your account permanently from their servers.

You can now delete or uninstall the Snapchat app from your smartphone. After 30 days, Snapchat will delete your account permanently from their database. Along with all your data linked to that account like; friends list, snap score, streaks, stories, etc.

And that’s how you delete or deactivate your Snapchat account. Once you deactivate your Snapchat account, your friends can’t contact you on the app. If you wish to stay in touch with a few of them, let them know that you are deleting your Snapchat account so that you both can connect on some other common platform for communication.

Also Read: How to Enable Dark Mode in Snapchat?

How to reactivate Snapchat account?

Regretting your decision and want to reactivate your Snapchat account? Thankfully, Snapchat gives a 30-day window for users to reactivate their Snapchat account.

The process to reactivate a Snapchat account is pretty simple, install the Snapchat app on your Android or iOS (if you have deleted it) and sign in with your old username and password.

You can reactivate Snapchat within 30 days of deactivation. Post 30 days, it is impossible to get your old Snapchat account back. You will have to start fresh by creating a new Snapchat account with a new username. Old username will be locked forever.

Deleting Snapchat Account: Final words!

For better or worse, Snapchat has made the account deletion process a bit lengthy for its users. Where most apps let you delete your account from the app itself, for deleting Snapchat, you have to access account settings on a web browser.

Nevertheless, that’s the only way of deleting your Snapchat account permanently. Mind you, once deleted, it will be impossible to get your old Snapchat account back. So make sure you want to do it before pulling the plug.

Also, You can now change Snapchat username without deleting your Snapchat account.

Trending

About the author

Anubhav Bhatnagar
Anubhav Bhatnagar
Your friendly neighbor who spends most of his time learning and sharing what he has learned with everyone. He is a fan of flat design and is into minimalism. Connect with him @AnooBav on all social platforms.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Read More