How to delete a Discord server permanently?

So you got enough of Discord and want to delete your Discord server? Well, the good news is, Deleting your Discord server is as easy as creating one. You can permanently delete your inactive or useless Discord servers to eliminate the clutter inside your Discord app.

However, if you want to get rid of your Discord server, there are few things to keep in mind:

  • You can only delete the server you own. You have to be the owner of that Discord server; otherwise, you won’t be able to delete it. Discord reserves the right only to its owner to delete the server.
  • Once deleted, you can no longer recover your Discord server. But if you are still unsure, you can always transfer the server’s ownership to someone else and leave the server.

Also, read: How to add bots to your Discord server on Desktop and Mobile?

How to delete a Discord server from the Desktop app?

Now let’s see how you can delete your server from the desktop app:

  1. Open Discord on your PC or Mac and hop into the server that you want to delete permanently.
  2. Now click on the server name on the top-left and then select ‘Server Settings‘ from the menu.discord server settings mrnoob
  3. You’ll now be inside the Server Settings page. Look for the ‘Delete Server‘ option in red at the bottom of the left sidebar. Click on it.
    server delete option discord desktop mrnoob
  4. A pop-up will appear where you will have to type in the exact name of your server. If you have enabled 2FA enabled on your account, you’ll have to type in the 6-digit authentication code instead.
  5. And finally, click on the ‘Delete Server‘ button to delete your Discord server permanently.discord server delete confirmation desktop mrnoob

How to delete a Discord server from the mobile app?

Deleting a Discord server from the mobile app is a bit different from its desktop app. Even if you use Discord only from your mobile, you can delete your server from the app. Here is how to do it:

  1. Open the Discord app on your Android and iOS, and hop into your server that you want to delete.open discord server options mobile mrnoob
  2. Now tap on the server’s name on the top, and then tap on the ‘Settings‘ button to open your Discord server settings.open discord server settings mobile mrnoob
  3. This is where a few things will changes. If you are an iOS user, head over to ‘Overview‘ and then look for the ‘Delete Server‘ option at the bottom of the page.delete discord server option ios mrnoobWhile on Android, you’ll tap on the 3-dot menu on the top right and then tap on the ‘Delete Server‘ option.delete discord server option android mrnoob
  4. You’ll now see a pop-up asking for your confirmation; whether you want to delete your Discord account, tap on ‘Yes‘ to complete the deletion process. Do note that you’ll have to enter your 2FA code as well if two-factor authentication is enabled on your account.
    delete discord server mobile mrnoob
  5. Congratulations, your Discord server is finally deleted.
6

Do you know, you can play Among us with your friends using Discord!

How to transfer ownership on Discord?

Transferring Discord server ownership is a fair practice if you want to take some time off that Discord server and no longer manage it. It’s okay if you delete an inactive Discord server. But deleting an active server that you no longer want to be a part of is considered rude. In that case, Discord gives you an option to transfer its ownership to another member of that server. Here is how to do it.

Transfer ownership of Discord server from Desktop.

  1. Open Discord on your PC or Mac and hop into the server you want to transfer to someone else.
  2. Click on the Server name on the top and then click on ‘Server Settings.’discord server settings mrnoob
  3. Inside the Server Settings window, click on the ‘Members‘ under ‘User Management.’
  4. Now hover over your desired member’s user name and click on the ‘3-dot menu‘ beside their name.
  5. Inside the menu, click on ‘Transfer Ownership.’transfer discord ownership desktop mrnoob
  6. A dialog box will pop up, where you have to switch the toggle first, then click on the ‘Transfer Ownership‘ button to initiate the transfer process.

    transfer ownership discord confrim mrnoob

Transfer ownership of Discord server from a Mobile app.

  1. Open the Discord app on your Android or iOS device, and get on to the server that you want to transfer.open discord server options mobile mrnoob
  2. Now tap on the server’s name on the top, and then tap on ‘Settings‘ to open its settings.open discord server settings mobile mrnoob
  3. Inside ‘Settings,’ look for ‘Members‘ under ‘User Management‘ and tap on it.discord app members option mrnoob
  4. Here you’ll see all the members of your Discord server. Tap on the member’s name you want to transfer the server’s ownership to, and then choose the ‘Transfer Ownership‘ option at the bottom of the page.memberlist discord app mrnoob
  5. A pop-up will appear, tap on the checkbox to accept the acknowledgment message, and then hit ‘Transfer‘ to complete the transfer process.transfer ownership discord app mrnoob

Do note that you’ll still be a member of that Discord server and will have all the permissions as per your designated ‘role.’ You’ll have to manually leave that Discord server if you no longer want the part of it.

Dos and Don’t of deleting a Discord server!

Unless it is an inactive Discord server, I would advise you to notify all the members that you will delete that server. You can do that by using the @everyone user tag to notify you about your decision.

If the server you want to delete is part of a bigger community, deleting it isn’t wise. In that case, you can always look for possible candidates to transfer it to someone based on their activity or based on reputation within the server.

Final Words: Delete your Discord server permanently?

And there you have it; using this guide, you can delete your Discord server permanently. Deleting a server will delete everything; chats, messages, and media. Do remember that this action is permanent; you can not restore a deleted Discord server. In that case, you’ll have to create the Discord server from scratch.

Trending

About the author

Anubhav Bhatnagar
Your friendly neighbor spends most of his time learning and sharing what he has learned with everyone. He is a fan of flat design and is into minimalism. Also, a huge Xiaomi critic and enthusiast. Connect with him @AnooBav on all social platforms.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Read More